Students Staff

Workshops - Spring Term 2019

Our workshops are open to all students and are run at both our Colchester and Southend campuses during term time. Each workshop lasts about 50 minutes.

If you would like to request a specific workshop, please complete our request a workshop form (.docx).

To book your place on one of our workshops, visit the TDC helpdesk in the Silberrad Student Centre, ground floor, or email tdc-helpdesk@essex.ac.uk. If you can't attend, please let us know.

The workshop schedule for the Spring Term will commence in week 17 and will be available here and on the events calendar.

Week 16, beginning 14 January

  • Wednesday 16 January 2019, 2pm – 4pm – Writing Clinic
  • Thursday 17 January, 10am - 12pm - Maths and Statistics Support Clinic
  • Thursday 17 January, 2pm - 3.30pm - Differentiation
  • Friday 18 January, 1pm - 3pm - Maths and Statistics Support Clinic

Week 17, beginning 21 January

Week 18, beginning 28 January

Week 19, beginning 4 February

Week 20, beginning 11 February

Week 21, beginning 18 February

  • Tuesday 19 February 2019, 1pm - Structure of Research Papers in the Sciences and Social Sciences
  • Wednesday 20 February 2019, 12pm - Writing in the Sciences
  • Wednesday 20 February 2019, 1pm - Writing Well: Academic Style
  • Thursday 21 February 2019, 1pm - Search Tips and Strategies
  • Thursday 21 February 2019, 1pm - Microfiction: Reading

Week 22, beginning 25 February

  • Tuesday 26 February 2019, 12pm - Evaluating Resources
  • Tuesday 26 February 2019, 12pm - Structuring an Essay
  • Tuesday 26 February 2019, 1pm - Making Sense of Academia – and Academics
  • Thursday 28 February 2019, 1pm - Developing a Research Proposal

Week 23, beginning 4 March

  • Tuesday 5 March 2019, 1pm - Referencing Made Easy
  • Tuesday 5 March 2019, 1pm - How to Edit Your Own Work
  • Thursday 7 March 2019, 1pm - Time Management

Week 24, beginning 11 March

  • Tuesday 12 March 2019, 12pm - Exam Preparation
  • Wednesday 13 March 2019, 1pm - Shut Up and Write
  • Thursday 14 March 2019, 1pm - Exam Preparation

Week 25, beginning 18 March

  • Tuesday 19 March 2019, 12pm - Exam Preparation
  • Wednesday 20 March 2019, 1pm - Shut Up and Write
  • Friday 21 March 2019, 1pm - Exam Preparation

To book your place on one of our workshops, email tdc-southend@essex.ac.uk. If you can't attend, please let us know.

The workshop schedule for the Spring Term will commence in week 17 and will be available here and on the events calendar.

Week 17, beginning 21 January

  • Thursday 24 January 2019, 3pm - 4pm - Understanding Feedback

Week 18, beginning 28 January

  • Tuesday 29 January 2019, 4pm - 5pm – Writing Well: Academic Style

Week 19, beginning 4 February

Week 20, beginning 11 February

Week 21, beginning 18 February

Week 22, beginning 25 February

Week 23, beginning 4 March

Week 24, beginning 11 March

Week 25, beginning 18 March