Students Staff

myEssex: the student portal

New students

My course

Study resources

Exams and coursework

Health and wellbeing

Disability and dyslexia

Campus and travel info

Student experience

Student communities

Money matters

Graduation

Get help and support

Departmental Disability Liaison Officers

The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer (DDLO) is a direct link for you between the Student Services Hub and your department. They can help make sure that the Disability Service know about any adjustments you need.

The University is piloting a new Inclusivity Lead role. This extends the DDLO role offering support to students with any of the protected characteristics as defined in the Equality Act and students who experience additional challenges in engaging with their higher education studies. (IL) below indicates which departments and their DDLOs are taking part in the pilot.

Department Disability Liaison Officer Telephone Email
Biological Sciences Phil Reeves 01206 873763 preeves@essex.ac.uk
Computing and Electronic Systems (IL) Francisco Sepulveda 01206 874151 fsepluv@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Loughton Own Gillham 0208187323 owen.gillham@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Southend Teresa Zoers-Taylor 01206 878325 tazoers@essex.ac.uk
Economics Karen Khachatryan 01206 874168 k.khachatryan@essex.ac.uk
Essex Abroad Vicky Pratt 01206 873565 vpratt@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Colchester (IL) Bev Jackson 01206 872314 bjackson@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Southend Marianna Marra (Autumn & Summer) 01702 328406 mmarra@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Southend Guven Demirel (Spring) 01702 328378 guven.demirel@essex.ac.uk
Essex Pathways Department Audrey Woraker 01206 874206 aworak@essex.ac.uk
Government Theresa Crowley 01206 873486 crowtx@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Colchester Ness Woodcock-Dennis 01206 874235 vjwoodb@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Southend Paul Buka 01702 328426 pbuka@essex.ac.uk
History Laila Haidarali 01206 873811 lhaid@essex.ac.uk
Human Rights Centre (IL) Penny Breary-Horne
(Undergraduate students)
01206 873723 pbrear@essex.ac.uk
Human Rights Centre Karen Brennan
(postgraduate students)
01206 874832 kbrennan@essex.ac.uk
Interdisciplinary Studies Centre Lorna Finlayson (Autumn and Summer)
Steve Gormley (Spring)
01206 873002
01206 872709
ljfinl@essex.ac.uk
segorm@essex.ac.uk
Language and Linguistics Laurel Lawyer 01206 873762 l.lawyer@essex.ac.uk
Law (IL) Penny Brearey-Horne
(Undergraduate students)
01206 873723 pbrear@essex.ac.uk
Law Karen Brennan
(postgraduate students)
01206 874832 kbrennan@essex.ac.uk
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies John Gillies 01206 872609 jgillies@essex.ac.uk
Mathematical Sciences Aris Perperoglou 01206 873036 aperpe@essex.ac.uk
Philosophy and Art History Lorna Finlayson (Autumn and Summer)
Steve Gormley (Spring)
01206 873002
01206 872709
ljfinl@essex.ac.uk
segorm@essex.ac.uk
Psychology Dominque Knutsen 01206 872573 dknutsen@essex.ac.uk
Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies Elena Della Rosa 01206 873903 edella@essex.ac.uk
Sociology (IL) Rowena Macaulay 01206 873743 rowena@essex.ac.uk
Sport, Rehabiliation and Exercise Sciences Jo Barton 01206 873774 jobarton@essex.ac.uk

  • Role of the Departmental Disability Liaison Officer

    The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the subject area you are studying and the structure of the department
    • can provide advice about the University’s specialist support services
    • can act as a link between the department and the Student Services Hub
    • is available if you wish to disclose or initially discuss your needs with them
    • can liaise with lecturers if you are worried, or embarrassed, about talking to them about disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the department
    • can provide advice if you are experiencing problems with your academic progress as a result of a permanent or temporary disability, medical condition or specific learning difficulty and who will be able to find out about the options available to you
    • will listen to your concerns confidentially

  • Section Disability Liaison Officers

    In addition to Departmental Liaison Officers the following sections have appointed a Section Disability Liaison Officer you can contact to discuss disability related issues.

    Role of the Section Disability Liaison Officer

    The Section Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the relevant section’s policies and procedures
    • can act as a link between the section and the Student Services Hub; you can disclose, or discuss your needs, confidentially to them
    • can liaise with members of staff in the section, if appropriate, about students’ disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the section