Students Staff

myEssex: the student portal

New students

My course

Study resources

Exams and coursework

Health and wellbeing

Access and disability

Campus and travel info

Student experience

Student communities

Money matters

Graduation

Get help and support

Departmental Disability Liaison Officers

The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer (DDLO) is a direct link for you between the Student Services Hub and your department. They can help make sure that the Disability Service know about any adjustments you need.

Department Disability Liaison Officer Telephone Email
Biological Sciences Phil Reeves 01206 873763 preeves@essex.ac.uk
Computing and Electronic Systems Francisco Sepulveda 01206 874151 f.sepulveda@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Loughton Owen Gillham 020 8508 7323 owen.gillham@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Southend Teresa Zoers-Taylor 01206 878325 tazoers@essex.ac.uk
Economics Rosella Argenziano 01206 873418 rargenz@essex.ac.uk
Edge Hotel School Dimitri Lera 01206 874684 ldimit@essex.ac.uk
Essex Abroad Vicky Pratt 01206 873565 vpratt@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Colchester Bev Jackson 01206 872314 bjackson@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Southend Marianna Marra 01702 328406 mmarra@essex.ac.uk
Essex Pathways Department Sandra Stephenson 01206 872840 systeph@essex.ac.uk
Government Theresa Crowley 01206 873486 crowtx@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Colchester Natalie Cowan 01206 878417 njcowa@essex.ac.uk
Health and Social Care, Southend Paul Buka 01702 328426 pbuka@essex.ac.uk
History Lucy Noakes 01206 873404 l.noakes@essex.ac.uk
Interdisciplinary Studies Centre Timo Juetten (Autumn)
Thomas Khurana (Spring and Summer)
01206 872998 tjuetten@essex.ac.uk
t.khurana@essex.ac.uk
Language and Linguistics Laurel Lawyer 01206 873762 l.lawyer@essex.ac.uk
Law and Human Rights Karen Brennan (Autumn)
Elizabeth Fisher-Frank (Spring and Summer)
Carlo Petrucci (Spring and Summer)
Anna Antoniou (Spring and Summer)
01206 874832
01206 876121

01206 872796
01206 872892
kbrennan@essex.ac.uk
efisheb@essex.ac.uk

c.petrucci@essex.ac.uk
a.m.antoniou@essex.ac.uk
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies John Gillies 01206 872609 jgillies@essex.ac.uk
Mathematical Sciences Abdel Salhi 01206 873022 as@essex.ac.uk
Philosophy and Art History Timo Juetten (Autumn)
Thomas Khurana (Spring and Summer)
01206 872998 tjuetten@essex.ac.uk
t.khurana@essex.ac.uk
Psychology Tuesday Watts and Rachel Cooper (Autumn)
Tracy Robinson (Spring and Summer)
01206 874138
01206 876539
01206 874134
tmwatt@essex.ac.uk
rcoopea@essex.ac.uk
Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies Anne Moss 01206 872921 am7420@essex.ac.uk
Sociology Rowena Macaulay 01206 873743 rowena@essex.ac.uk
Sport, Rehabiliation and Exercise Sciences Jo Barton 01206 873774 jobarton@essex.ac.uk

  • Role of the Departmental Disability Liaison Officer

    The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the subject area you are studying and the structure of the department
    • can provide advice about the University’s specialist support services
    • can act as a link between the department and the Student Services Hub
    • is available if you wish to disclose or initially discuss your needs with them
    • can liaise with lecturers if you are worried, or embarrassed, about talking to them about disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the department
    • can provide advice if you are experiencing problems with your academic progress as a result of a permanent or temporary disability, medical condition or specific learning difficulty and who will be able to find out about the options available to you
    • will listen to your concerns confidentially

  • Section Disability Liaison Officers

    In addition to Departmental Liaison Officers the following sections have appointed a Section Disability Liaison Officer you can contact to discuss disability related issues.

    Role of the Section Disability Liaison Officer

    The Section Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the relevant section’s policies and procedures
    • can act as a link between the section and the Student Services Hub; you can disclose, or discuss your needs, confidentially to them
    • can liaise with members of staff in the section, if appropriate, about students’ disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the section