Students Staff

15 April 2014

Yet another win for East 15 with the Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award

Roslyn Hill

Roslyn Hill

East 15 BA Acting student Roslyn Hill has been awarded the 2014 Carleton Hobbs Bursary which earns her a contract for six months with the BBC Radio Drama department.

Roslyn joins previous alumni including Alex River, Leah Brotherhead, Paul Richard Biggin, Trevor Cuthberson and Arsher Ali in the roll call of East 15’s Carleton Hobbs successes.

Other students making up the team from East 15 were Luke Francis, Richard Weston, and Eva Bell and, in an almost unprecedented move on the part of the judging panel, they all received commendations for every category in the competition. Collectively, the four who formed the East 15 team, also received a commendation for Best Team Exercise with Roslyn receiving the overall 2014 Carleton Hobbs Bursary a ward.

Named after one of Radio’s most distinguished actors, the Carleton Hobbs initiative has been run by BBC Radio Drama every year since 1953, proudly reaching its 50th anniversary in 2003.

BBC Radio Drama is particularly proud of its reputation for finding and encouraging those starting out on their professional life as an actor. In its time, the competition has launched the careers of 120 outstanding graduating students. The Carleton Hobbs Bursary is aimed at students graduating from regular (or postgraduate) courses run by accredited drama schools across the country. Via the scheme, the BBC looks for distinctive, versatile radio voices to form the next season’s Radio Drama Company.

The organisers of the bursary scheme said: “Winning a Bursary is not so much about the chance of gaining a job and a regular pay cheque, but the opportunity of extending the students’ training in a unique acting environment - one where they’ll work with the best actors and writers in the country on a wide range of contemporary and classic plays.”

...more news releases