Students Staff

06 December 2012

National awards for our academics and alumnus

David Sanders receives his award

Professor David Sanders receives his award from leading authority on post-war British elections Sir David Butler and Jon Snow

A commitment to outstanding research which has shaped our understanding of politics has led to national awards for Professor David Sanders and Professor Vicky Randall from the Department of Government.

Both received Special Recognition Awards from the Political Studies Association (PSA) at a prestigious awards ceremony.

Essex alumnus and Speaker of the House of Commons John Bercow MP also received the highly coveted Politician of the Year at the Annual PSA Awards ceremony which honours the contribution made by politicians, academics, journalists, and campaigners.

Mr Bercow, who is also an Honorary Graduate, highlighted his time at the University during his acceptance speech.

Only three Special Recognition Awards were made by the PSA this year and Professor Sanders was recognised for his immense contribution to the discipline of political science, particularly in electoral studies and international relations. His work on the British Election Study has been vital in explaining Britain’s changing electoral landscape, telling us why people vote, what affects the election outcome, and what the consequences of elections are for democracy in Britain.

He received his award from Sir David Butler, the leading authority on post-war elections in Britain, who is also an Honorary Graduate of the University.

The Awards Jury said: “Professor Sanders’s contribution to electoral studies, specifically the British Election Study, which under his stewardship has gone from strength to strength; as well as his impact in International Relations, serving as Chair of the Politics and International Relations section of the British Academy, makes him a deserving recipient of this award.”

Vicky Randall receives his award

Professor Vicky Randall receives her award from author and journalist Yasmin Alibhai-Brown and Jon Snow

Professor Randall, Emeritus Professor in the Department of Government, was recognised for her tireless work integrating gender analysis into political science and her efforts to secure fairer representation of women in political life and the study of politics. Her body of work has addressed the role of women in democracy, and has been truly comparative, covering childcare policy in welfare states, women’s legislative quotas and child prostitution. She is one of a generation of high profile female academics who has shaped the discipline through her scholarship and through her activism, not least as Chair of the PSA from 2008 to 2011.

The Awards Jury praised Professor Randall’s ”services to the promotion of political studies as well as her contributions to both the Political Studies Association and to gender and politics scholarship”

The Awards ceremony, held in the heart of Westminster at Church House, was hosted by Jon Snow from Channel 4 News.

John Bercow receives his award

Rt Hon John Bercow, pictured with Lord Steel and Jon Snow, received recognition for his impact as the Speaker of the House of Commons

Other award winners included:

• Parliamentarian of the Year – Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MP
• Lifetime Achievement in Politics – Chris Patten
• Lifetime Achievement in Politics – Bill Morris
• Lifetime Achievement in Politics – Sir Richard Leese
• Journalist of the Year – David Aaronovitch
• Broadcaster of the Year – Stephanie Flanders
• Best Political Satire – Have I got News for You


For more information please contact the University of Essex Communications Office on 01206 874377.

...more news releases