Students Staff

06 May 2016

Celebrate Landscape voted a success

Celebrate Landscape

You can now find out if the art work you voted for won the People’s Prize at the Celebrate Landscape exhibition.

Hundreds of people voted for their favourite piece at the Art Exchange show which was organised to celebrate the 200th anniversary of John Constable completing his famous painting of Wivenhoe Park.

The People’s Prize was unveiled at a special awards evening which also saw a panel of judges announce winners across five categories - student, staff, child, young people and visitor.

More than 1,000 people have visited the exhibition so far, organised by the Arts Education Outreach Team at the University of Essex, which featured dozens of incredible art works.

A total of 16 schools also took part in special hands-on workshops at the University inspired by the exhibition.

Harvey Taylor, who won the People’s Prize said: “It was exciting and uplifting to receive the People's Prize. Knowing that so many people had visited the exhibition is amazing and then to understand that over 600 people took part in the public vote is great.”

The category winners included artist Tom Armstrong who adapted a pool table to allow visitors to play on Constable’s masterpiece.

Winners received a cheque for £100 and runners-up in the adult categories won an afternoon tea for two at Wivenhoe House Hotel while children and young people received a hamper of art materials.

The judging panel included representatives for each category: Tom Bailey for children, artist Allison Stockmarr for visitors, Colchester Institute student Oliver Hulstron for young people, Art History MA student Adam Robinson for students and Oliver Brown from Wivenhoe House Hotel for staff.

Winners and runners-up

Winner – Maisy Reed, Millfields Primary School
Runner up – Ella Ojo, St John’s Green Primary School

Young People
Winner – Samantha Dalipe, Gilberd School
Runner-up – Freya Gascoyne, Colne Community School and College

Current student
Winner – Angenita Hardy Teekens
Runner-up – Lora Aziz

Current staff
Winner – Wendy Bryant
Runner-up – Sian Collins

Winner – Tom Armstrong
Runner-up – Rosanne Barr

People’s Prize
Winner – Harvey Taylor
Runner up – Bill Hiskett

...more news releases