Students Staff

Departmental Peer Mentor Coordinators

A Peer Mentor Coordinator is a staff member responsible for overseeing peer mentoring arrangements within your department, school or centre. Each scheme operates slightly differently and so you will hear from your peer mentor co-ordinator about:

  • how mentors are allocated to mentees
  • rules about whether to meet individually, in pairs or small groups
  • what you need to do if you or your mentee want to swap
  • how many times you are expected to meet with or contact your mentee(s) throughout the year
  • how you are expected to make contact with your mentee(s)
  • 'Who's Who' in your peer mentor scheme and/or departmental support arrangements
  • what requirements there might be for record keeping
  • confidentiality policy and practice within your scheme

If have any questions, please contact your Peer Mentor Coordinator.

If your department, school or centre is not currently involved in the scheme and would like to join it, please email studentengagement@essex.ac.uk

  • Biological Sciences


    Dr Louise Beard

    Telephone 01206 874048

    Email lhbeard@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 3SW.5.09


  • Computer Science and Electronic Engineering


    Woroud Melhem

    Telephone 01206 872418

    Email wmelhe@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 4.514


  • East 15 Acting School

    Please note: East 15 Acting School operates a buddy scheme not a peer mentor scheme.

  • Economics


    Dr Rosella Argenziano

    Telephone 01206 873418

    Email r.argenziano@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 5B.317


  • Essex Business School (Colchester)


    Darren Herbert

    Telephone01206 873911

    Email dherbert@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room EBS 2.14


  • Essex Business School (Southend)


    Deborah McColgan

    Telephone 01206 878411

    Email dmccol@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room GB.3.66


  • Essex Pathways Department


    Haji Yakubu

    Telephone 01206 87 3352

    Email hyakubu@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 4.110


  • Government


    Sallyann West

    Telephone 01206 873011

    Email sawest@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 5B.316


  • Health and Social Care (Colchester)


    Rachael Parsons

    Telephone 01206 873081

    Email rachaelp@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 2S2.3.22


  • Health and Social Care (Southend)


    Amalia Khodr

    Telephone 01702 878886

    Email ak18651@essex.ac.uk

    Location TF.2 Southend


  • History


    Dr Amanda Flather

    Telephone 01206 872311

    Email flatak@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 5NW.7.8


  • Language and Linguistics


    Jenny Upton

    Telephone 01206 872188

    Email jenny.upton@essex.ac.uk

    Location 4.305


  • Law (including Human Rights Centre)


    Karen Brennan

    Telephone 01206 874832

    Email kbrennan@essex.ac.uk

    Location 4SB.5.17


    Liz Fisher-Frank

    Telephone 01206 876121

    Email elizabeth.fisherfrank@essex.ac.uk

    Location 4SB.5.13


  • Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies


    Rachele Winn

    Telephone 01206 872611

    Email rachele@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 5NW.6.16


  • Mathematical Sciences


    Karen Waddy

    Telephone 01206 873355

    Email kewadd@essex.ac.uk

    Location STEM 5.2


    Gemma Hopton

    Telephone 01206 872926

    Email mathsug@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 6.320


  • Philosophy and Art History (including ISC)


    Hannah Whiting

    Telephone 01206 872703

    Email hannah.whiting@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 6.122


  • Psychology


    Lesley Monk

    Telephone 01206 873356

    Email lamonk@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 3.718


  • Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies (Colchester)


    Leonardo Nascimento

    Telephone 01206 873962

    Email nnasci@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 4SB.6.13


  • Psychosocial and Psychoanalytic Studies (Southend)


    Dr Chris Nicholson

    Telephone 01206 873075

    Email cnich@essex.ac.uk

    Location 4SB.6.10


  • Sociology


    Rowena Macaulay

    Telephone 01206 873743

    Email rowena@essex.ac.uk

    Location Room 5A.315


  • SRES


    Marie Gribbin

    Telephone 01206 873361

    Email mgrib@essex.ac.uk

    Location ESA3.30


Postgraduate students

If you are a postgraduate taught student and would like a peer mentor, please contact your Departmental Peer Mentor Coordinator.

We also have the 'Ask a postgraduate student' scheme which gives you the opportunity to ask questions and discuss issues about living and studying as a postgraduate at Essex.

Societies

Peer mentor schemes are not run through clubs or societies. However, two societies offer buddy schemes instead.

For more information on the Students' Union Buddy Scheme contact:

VP Welfare and Community

Telephone 01206 863211

Email vpwelfare@essex.ac.uk

Web Student's Union Sabbs