Students Staff

Postgraduate taught rules of assessment

Rules of assessment are the rules, principles and frameworks which the University uses to calculate your results. Boards of Examiners use these rules when making their decisions on whether:

  • you can be awarded credit for the modules you have studied
  • you have done enough to move on to the next stage of your course (if you are on a course which lasts more than one year)
  • you need reassessment
  • whether you have done enough to pass your course
  • whether you are eligible to receive a merit or distinction

There are also further guidance notes on the rules, and what they mean to you in practice.

Specific requirements

Most courses are assessed by the standard rules of assessment. However you must check whether your course has any specific requirements, these will be listed under the heading 'Variations to the rules of assessment'.

You should also read section C of the programme specification for your course, which identifies which modules are core and must therefore be passed for your qualification. This information is available in myEssex.

Rules for your course

To find the rules of assessment for your course select the year you started your course from the list below:

Previous rules of assessment

Credit framework for taught postgraduate courses

The University has a standard Credit Framework for Taught Postgraduate Courses (.pdf). It covers the following awards: Masters, Integrated Masters, Postgraduate Diplomas, Postgraduate Certificates, Graduate Diplomas and Graduate Certificates.