Students Staff

Colchester gym

Current gym usage
  Usage Current users
Low 18

Fitness classes

Group classes

Freestyle fitness yoga, cycle fit, pilates, Insanity®, boot camp, DanceXtreme®, you name it! It all happens in our fitness classes. Come and join in.

Our first class gym and fitness studios are designed to inspire and motivate you to keep fit. The Essex Sport gym has 160 state-of-the-art fitness stations in a light, spacious and fully air-conditioned environment.


If you would like to use the gym, you have a choice of peak gold or off-peak silver membership, both representing excellent value, with fitness classes included.

Opening times

The gym at our Colchester Campus is open seven days a week (excluding Bank Holidays).

Membership Monday to Friday Weekends
Silver 6.30am - 3pm 8am - 3pm
Gold 6.30am - 11pm 8am - 10pm

Christmas opening times

Date hours
Saturday 23 December 10am – 6pm
Sunday 24 December closed
Monday 25 December closed
Tuesday 26 December closed
Wednesday 27 December 10am – 6pm
Thursday 28 December 10am – 6pm
Friday 29 December 10am – 6pm
Saturday 30 December 10am – 6pm
Sunday 31 December closed
Monday 1 January closed

Normal opening hours will resume after the Christmas holidays.

Personal training

Our friendly fitness team offer personal training sessions starting at £30 per hour. We also offer tailor-made fitness programs starting at £20. To find out more contact our team via email or call 01206 873250.

About the gym

The design of Essex Sport Gym follows a fitness journey – cardiovascular, resistance and free weights – suited to anyone whether they are a complete beginner or a seasoned athlete.