Students Staff

Student representation

Our Student Staff Liaison Committee is a forum for both Undergraduate and Postgraduate students to voice opinions and raise issues related to any aspect of studies and experience in our department.

Our SSLC is also asked to elect representatives from UG, PGT and PGR to attend Department Meetings.


  • Lewis Adger, Film Studies (Year 1)
  • Chloe Atkinson, Drama (Year 3)
  • Carina Cain, Film and Creative Writing (Year 1)
  • Elaine Ewart, Creative Writing (GTA)
  • Leanne Farrell, Literature and Sociology (Year 2)
  • Hannah Josol, Creative Writing (Year 1)
  • Ela Kir, Film Studies (Year 1)
  • Ruby McIlroy, Drama (Year 2)
  • Rebecca Parker, Literature and Sociology (Year 1)
  • Melissa Shales, Literature (PhD)
  • Matthew Sheppard, Creative Writing (Year 3)
  • Tyler Smith, Film Studies (Year 1)
  • Debbie Sonaike, Film and Literature (Postgraduate Taught)
  • Chloe Streets, Literature (Postgraduate Taught)
  • Fryderyk Ujazdowski, English and US Literature (Year 1)
  • Ioana-Antonio Vladut, Creative Writing (Year 3)

The chair of our SSLC is our Director of Education, Dr John Haynes.

Meeting minutes

"You Said, We Did"  November 2016

The documents below are restricted to Essex users only.

Meeting minutes

The documents below are restricted to Essex users only.

Code of practice

Our University’s code of practice for student representation within departments provides useful information about the role of student representatives, their rights and responsibilities.