Students Staff

UN Mandate on the Right to Health

Enhancing civil society engagement and the research capacity of the UN Special Rapporteur on the right to health

Our Human Rights Centre is committed to using its unique blend of theory and practice expertise to make human rights institutions strong and effective.

In 2015 we launched a new partnership with Dr Dainius Pūras - the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right of Everyone to the Enjoyment of the Highest Attainable Standard of Physical and Mental Health. This is only the latest development in our long tradition of supporting the work of UN independent experts.

The UN mandate and Essex

Essex’s Professor Paul Hunt was the first expert to hold the position of UN Special Rapporteur on the right to health when the mandate was created in 2002. Since then, both he, and his successor, Professor Anand Grover, have developed a rich body of work around the right to health.

Dr Dainius Pūras

In 2014, Dr Pūras became the first medical doctor to be appointed to this role. Dr Pūras is Head of the Child Psychiatry and Social Paediatrics Centre at Vilnius University in Lithuania and a consultant at the Child Development Centre at Vilnius University Hospital.

He has been involved in transforming public health policies and services for 30 years and has previously served as a member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child.

In May 2015, Dr Pūras joined Essex as a Visiting Professor heralding the next chapter in our support for the mandate.

Our team will assist Dr Pūras in developing the research to support his thematic reporting to the Human Rights Council and the General Assembly. Importantly, our team will coordinate the consultative activities for Dr Pūras to ensure his thematic work is underpinned by robust consultation from civil society.

Research team Professor Paul, Julie Hannah, Judith Mesquita, Dolores Infante-Canibano and Dr Dainius Pūras

Research team with Dr Dainius Pūras

The partnership is funded by the Open Society Foundation’s Public Health Programme.

Research team

Our research team includes:

Find out more