Students Staff

Guidelines for Nominations for the Award of Alumnus of the Year

Nomination criteria

Both staff and alumni are invited to nominate. The award is presented at the appropriate degree congregation where the Head of Department, or their nominee, makes a short oration and the recipient replies to the congregation.

The nominations are considered by the Honorary Degrees and Honorary Fellowships Committee. Nominations will not be accepted for alumni who have not achieved a degree level qualification. An Alumnus of the Year should not be self-nominated. Nominations should not be discussed with the person you are nominating.

How to nominate

Nominations open in the Spring Term each year for award at Graduation the following July.

Previous winners

2017 Jianwei Zheng
(MA, TESOL, 2014) for his services to disability and diversity.

2016 Amy Woolf
(BA Social & Cultural History, 2006) for her services to charity and vulnerable people.

2015 Heiko Hesse
(BSc Financial Economics, 2003) for achievements and significant contribution to global economics.

2014 Téa Braun
(LLM Law, 2006) for her work fighting inequality across the globe and promoting human rights.

2013 Liz Bailey
(BA, 2004 MA, 2005 PhD, 2012 Literature) for her achievements and significant contribution to teaching.

2012 Aisha Gill
(BA, 1996 MA, 1998 PhD, 2002 Sociology) for achievements and significant contribution in her work against violence to women, forced marriage and so-called “honor-killings”.

2011 Dlair Kadhem
(BEng Electronics Systems Engineering, 2005) for achievements and significant contribution to entrepreneurship and e-commerce.

2010 Deborah Baker
(BA History and Government, 1980) for her work in the human resources industry.

2009 Carry Somers
(MA Native American Studies 1992) for her work in the Fairtrade fashion industry representing workers in Peru.

2008 Dotun Adebayo
(BA Philosophy 1987) for his work in publishing and broadcasting, representing underserved and neglected minority groups.

2007 Yasmin Waljee
(MA Theory and Practice of Human Rights 2003) for her pro bono human rights legal work.

2006 Michael Hollier
(PhD Electronic Systems Engineering 1995) for his work within the telecommunications and multimedia fields.

2005 Ben McCarthy
(BA Politics 1989) for his work in broadcast journalism.

2004 Stephen Feber
(MA Literature 1980) for his work within the museum and gallery management field.

2003 Michael Todd
(BA Government 1989, MPhil Government 1994) for his work as Chief Constable of Greater Manchester Police.

2002 Aisling Reidy
(LLM International Human Rights Law 1994) for her work as a human rights lawyer working to bring prosecutions against war criminals.

This award scheme has been a great success, particularly as a way of publicising to graduating students and their families what can be achieved with an Essex degree.