Students Staff

Our Centre

We bring together colleagues from our departments of Economics, Government, History, Language and Linguistics, Law and Sociology to support interdisciplinary research in European issues. This includes:

Centre members

  • Professor Han Dorussen, Department of Government - policy convergence in the European Union.
  • Professor Emil Kirchner, Department of Government - European security policy, European integration and German politics.
  • Mrs Susan Sydenham, Department of Government - Project Coordinator, EU-China Security Cooperation.
  • Dr Caspar Pearson, School of Philosophy and Art History - art, architecture and urbanism of the Italian Renaissance.

Read publications by our Centre's members in our Research Repository.

If you're interested in undertaking postgraduate research with us, please feel free to contact prospective supervisors to discuss your ideas.

Research projects

European research centres at Essex

Essex is home to a number of European research centres:

External resources

The European Union's Jean Monnet Project co-finances universities for the establishment of Jean Monnet Chairs, Jean Monnet permanent courses, Jean Monnet modules in European law, European economy, political studies of European construction and the history of European integration. The Jean Monnet project also supports the creation of Jean Monnet Centres of Excellence. You can find out more about the Project from its website:

Contact us

Jean Monnet European Centre of Excellence

University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3SQ

Telephone +44 (0)1206 872749